Coming March 30, 2021


The Texas Murder Files Series · Book two

One tenacious local detective can only get the help he needs from a former forensic photographer with a serial killer on the loose in the new romantic thriller from New York Times bestselling author Laura Griffin.

When former forensic photographer Miranda Rhoads moves to the seaside town of Lost Beach, she’s decided to make her living as a wildlife photographer and put crime scenes behind her. But her plans are quickly upended when one morning, she comes across a couple sleeping in a canoe, entwined in an embrace. Looking closer, she realizes the man and woman aren’t asleep—they’ve been murdered.

Detective Joel Breda sets out to find answers–not only about the unidentified victims in the marshy death scene, but also about the aloof and beautiful photographer who seems to know more about his investigation than he does.

As they begin to unravel the motivation of a merciless serial killer, Miranda and Joel must race against the clock to make an arrest before the killer can find them first.

“A thrilling suspense plot with a believable love story… Griffin takes care to develop a satisfying and complex mystery without sacrificing time for Joel and Miranda to build trust and chemistry as their partnership moves from professional to personal. Series fans will not be disappointed.”

Publishers Weekly


The Texas Murder Files Series · Book two

    The full series reading order is as follows:

  • Book 1: Hidden
  • Book 2: Flight

Excerpt Coming Soon!


is pre-ordering now, and begins shipping & downloading March 30, 2021:
Penguin Random House
Mar 30, 2021

ISBN-10: 0593197348

ISBN-13: 9780593197356